After two shock resignations leave Boris Johnson dangling by a thread

After two shock resignations leave Boris Johnson dangling by a thread

July 6, 2022

Where does the Cabinet stand? After two shock resignations leave Boris Johnson dangling by a thread, a look at who else is looking for the exit… and who is still in his corner


Dominic Raab

Deputy Prime Minister: Allies say ‘there’s no way he’s going’.

Liz Truss

Foreign Secretary: She is said to be ‘100 per cent behind the Prime Minister’.

Priti Patel

Home Secretary: Staying in Government.

STAYING: Dominic Raab: Deputy PM and Therese Coffey: Pensions

Nadine Dorries

Culture Secretary: She said: ‘I am 100 per cent behind Boris Johnson, the PM who consistently gets all the big decisions right.’

Ben Wallace

Defence Secretary: Declared yesterday he’s definitely staying.

Steve Barclay

Ex-Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, now Health Secretary.

STAYING: Nadine Dorries: Culture and  Priti Patel: Home Secretary

Nadhim Zahawi 

Ex-Education Secretary. Now appointed to Chancellor.

Michael Gove

Levelling Up Secretary: It was confirmed that he will stay, after an hour of speculation.

Kwasi Kwarteng

Business Secretary: Staying in Government.

STAYING: Grant Shapps: Transport and  Michael Gove: Levelling Up

Anne-Marie Trevelyan

International Trade Secretary: ‘Going nowhere’ according to sources.

Therese Coffey

Work and Pensions Secretary: Sources confirmed after 90 minutes that she is not resigning.

Grant Shapps

Transport Secretary: Confirmed to be staying.

STAYING: Kwasi Kwarteng: Business and Anne-Marie Trevelyan: Trade

George Eustice

Environment Secretary: Said to be staying.

Brandon Lewis

Northern Ireland Secretary: Staying, but his parliamentary private secretary Jonathan Gullis has resigned.

Alister Jack

Scottish Secretary: Said last night that he ‘fully support the Prime Minister’.

Baroness Evans

Leader of the House of Lords: Staying put.

Jacob Rees-Mogg

Brexit Minister: Said last night that he ‘wouldn’t get too excited about resignations.’


Alok Sharma

COP26 President: No response.

Simon Hart

Welsh Secretary: No response.

Source: Read Full Article